Being Nosy in New England

Pumpkin path to … where?

There are two things about me which may not be obvious (or maybe they are obvious and you know already): I like holidays and I am nosy. Not horribly nosy. Not the sort of person that sticks their beak into other people’s business just for the sake of it. But I am a writer and I do like to know what is happening around me. And on holidays, I am often intrigued by things that I don’t meet at home.

A couple of years ago, we went to America. We went to New England in autumn, or the Fall. We went on a tour, had a great time and saw many interesting things on our trip, but the most interesting were those we stumbled on. Like the pumpkin path in the picture.

Our guide took us to Deerfield in Massachusetts, a small historic town with beautiful houses and a fascinating history. He told us we would be there for an hour and we had time to go and explore. We all piled off the coach, everyone else went one way, my husband and I took a different direction, which proved to be typical of the day. Left to our own devices, we wandered off and found the pumpkin path. My husband was dubious when I said I wanted to follow it.

“You can’t. It might be someone’s driveway.”

“But it’s an invitation,” I insisted. And I set off along the path to discover what might be going on, hoping I was not about to gatecrash someone’s private barbecue.

It turned out not to be private, but a Bring and Buy for the local elementary school. Around the bend, we found a barn full of people selling cakes and biscuits and handmade items and more pumpkins.

On the stage, a little group played music. Everyone was very friendly. We chatted to several people, informing them that we had come all the way from England to visit their Bring and Buy. They seemed amused that we would even bother to follow the pumpkin path to find out what was happening. I bought an advent calendar in the shape of a moose for one dollar, lots of little muffins and some homemade oreo  biscuits. After saying our goodbyes, we wandered around a bit more, admired the houses and the intriguing post office and made our way back to the coach. There were enough of the goodies to share with everyone and they all enjoyed the spoils of our foraging.

The guide greeted us with amazement.

“I’ve been bringing people here to Deerfield for years and I have never known anyone find anywhere to shop.”

We smiled. That’s what comes of being nosy in New England.

11 responses to “Being Nosy in New England

  1. I am also nosy – I hate not knowing everything.

    • Hi nosy!
      Think writers have to be nosy. Goes with the territory.
      And I eavesdrop in restaurants.
      I am blessed with amazing hearing and the ability to listen to one conversation whilst taking part in another.
      Occasionally lunch with a writer friend who has the same abilities. Those occasions are often hilarious.

  2. I wouldn’t call that incident “nosy”. You were on vacation in an unfamiliar place, therefore you were “exploring”.

    • Of course! Exploring – that’s what I do. I’m not nosy at all – well, maybe just a little bit. :-)

      • Naturally. Every explorer has to have curiosity – the desire to see what’s over the next hill, or in your case, at the end of the path. And some people, who see only in black and white consider curiosity as being nosy.

        • I always have to poke about when I’m somewhere different. I like what I call ‘holes’. Little lanes look inviting to me, back alleyways often hold hidden treasures.
          On that same tour, I found a bring and buy going on in a car park where we had just stopped for a loo break. No one else seemed to spot the hay bales covered in tablecloths and all the young mums showing off their wares.
          I do think a lot of people are just plain unobservant. There is a whole world of stuff which is just missed if you don’t keep your eyes open.

          • I’m a photographer as well as a writer, so whenever I’m out, even in my own neighbourhood, I’m looking about to find something I may have missed before. I can’t understand people who go through life with blinkers on – they miss so much beauty and joy.

          • I try to have a camera with me too.
            I have lots of photos of little back alleys, strange street signs, lumps of rope and skip contents!
            Some of it isn’t beautiful, but it does make me happy and I can write about it, even if it’s only a few lines.

  3. Pingback: Serendipity and writing | patwoodblogging

  4. I love doing things like that! You are not nosey you are curious and that’s what makes us writers.

What are your thoughts on this? Do tell...

