Character development? Not in my world

So all you pantsters out there, does this sound like you?

Character development? Not in my world.

14 responses to “Character development? Not in my world

  1. This is extreme pantsing, isn’t it? No planning whatsoever. I used to be exactly this way, but I never, ever got anything finished. My last story went to 234,000 words and was only part-way through. Still, it was thoroughly enjoyable to write. I felt as if I was putting putty characters into the world I had created, then I watched them come to life and develop according to their experiences.
    Just like children.

    • Extreme pantsing indeed. I think I do this to a certain extent. I plan a bit, then wing it, but I once had someone whom I thought was going to be a goodie go bad on me. Weird experience. I suddenly realised that his niceness had a wicked side, that he was controlling and once I let the controlling take over, great things happened to that character. Unfortunately the rest of the book…. :-)

  2. Pantser here.

    I don’t know what character development means. I’ve heard of people buying writing software that lets them create lenghty character bios, put characters into folders and sub folders and so on. I can see it for someone writing historical fiction or planning an epic fantasy series to keep track of everyone, but I’m not sure if all that makes a character seem more real on the page.

    When I’m writing a story, I just hit backspace whenever I accidentally make someone do the wrong thing. The bits I don’t delete are the character.

    • Yes, I see what you mean. Characters do write the story. And I think as real people, we may have a character, but even we are situationally driven. We tend to respond, react, sometimes without thought.
      I tend to do a bit of both – plan and wing it. And hopefully allow my characters to develop along with the story. Thanks for coming by and stopping to comment. Will pop over and see you – put the kettle on!

  3. A lot of the characters in my stories live full lives in my head. Often times they’re more interesting than the people I know in the real world.

  4. This is a good one for us pantsters. I tagged you for the “Next Big Thing” blog hop. It will be fun to hear about your WIP. I hope it creates interest in your blog and your novel. http://darlenefoster.wordpress.com/2012/11/21/the-next-big-thing-blog-hop/

    • Thank you Darlene. That’s very kind. I was tagged for this recently and discussed the novel I am editing (Clean Death which has three chapters up on its own little blog), but I have recently begun something new, so I might give a little taste of that!

  5. Very good blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.

    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or
    go for a paid option? There are so many options
    out there that I’m totally confused .. Any suggestions? Many thanks!

    • Thank you Amie. Very kind. My blog is obviously free here on WordPress and I have found it to be perfect for me. Loads of helpful advice around and kind people to offer it. I’d stick with free, but I am a baby at this game. Only began in July.
      Read a lot of the blogs that are here and see how you feel after a week or two.
      And follow me too!!! :-)

  6. always i used to read smaller content that also clear their motive,
    and that is also happening with this article which
    I am reading here.

What are your thoughts on this? Do tell...

