Visiting, visitors and That White Stuff!!

Well, it came.

That white stuff I mean. And if you’ve been reading any of my pages or posts you will know that I hate it.

All right. I know, I am totally pathetic about snow.

I hate the cold of it, the wetness, the shivery icy blast every time the door opens and most of all I am frightened of it.

Yes, that’s right: I’m frightened. I’m scared in the car because Britain is so bad at making the roads safe. And people drive too fast or use their brakes right in front of you so you’re forced to use yours and go skidding about all over the road. And I’m frightened to walk on the paths because they are even more lethal. Nobody in Britain thinks to grit or sand those. Pathetic amounts of grit get sprayed on the roads here, but pedestrians can take their chances.

Snowploughs – what about snowploughs I hear you ask. Well – the truth is we don’t get very much snow. About an inch at a time in most places. And snowploughs don’t deal with that sort of snow. And when we get a bucket full and it lays four feet thick, there are about seven snowploughs for the entire country. Which doesn’t help much. And about half a per cent of us have snow tyres or chains or anything like that, because we simply don’t get it often enough. So we are totally useless in the snow. And in the ice. This country grinds to a halt and I think I might stay in bed until it’s gone!

And we were away when it came. We had popped down to Kent for a few days and I was minus my Wifi, hence no posts for a couple of days, for which I apologise. I even missed posting for the Insecure Writers (first Wednesday of each month) because we were late back due to the snow.  How much snow? About one and a half inches. It all fell in half and hour and then spent the rest of yesterday being a nuisance!

It was there long enough to take a photo this morning and now it has all gone again.

Now we are rushing about to get ready because we have visitors arriving tomorrow. Assuming there is no more of the dreadful white stuff to stop them from coming!

 

Related post:

http://the-view-outside.com/2012/12/05/insecure-writers-support-day-december/

25 responses to “Visiting, visitors and That White Stuff!!

  1. I’m with you re snow because walking on it puts my teeth on edge.

  2. Sounds like the Southern US, where everything shuts down if there’s an inch of snow. Where I live? It’s gotta be pretty significant to grind us to a halt, like two feet.

    • Weird, isn’t it? different attitudes to snow – minor scraping of it here and we’re goosed. Two feet? I think I’d be hibernating…. :-(

  3. I’m from Canada and I don’t like snow either! LOL, I know, I know. Great Canadian I am, right? But where I live we are second mildest in the country and usually don’t get the large amounts of snow the rest of the country gets. We have snowploughs, salt/sand and Winter tires though. I find the sidewalks here to be poorly tended to though so people end up walking on the road by cars coming along. Or we have to climb over a pile of snow the plough built up that is usually slippery or liable to cave in and you have your pant legs get all wet. I’m not a fan of Winter. Ice is what really bothers me though. We tend to have a snow fall then it will rain and be mild so snow melts. The next day or so later it freezes and there’s ice everywhere. That’s what really bothers me. I’m not great at walking on ice even with proper boots on. I think I’ll hibernate!

    • Hibernation.. Yes! Just mentioned that in a reply! I think it’s ice that really bothers me too – very scary. And we have far more ice than we get snow.
      We nearly emigrated to Canada years back and when I think about it now, it gives me the shivers – I’d have had to get used to the snow there.
      I suppose I am in the right place really, as I’m not keen on freezing cold or boiling hot so the temperate climate does suit me. Until the white stuff comes.
      And I don’t like the sound of piles of snow that cave in and wet you through! YUK!

  4. I would have to drive about 2 hours to the northern part of my state to see snow. When I was young, my grandparents drove me up to the snow so I could make a snowman. Even though people associate Arizona with desert, a good chunk of the state is also covered in forests and it does snow in that terrain. But, I’ve always been a desert dweller and shy away from trips up north for the white stuff. I wouldn’t have a clue how to deal with it.

    LOL, I don’t suppose you are going to turn on the snow feature for your blog then, are you?

    • Snow about two hours away sounds like my kind of snow. And I don’t know how to deal with it either!
      The snow feature?
      Er, no. But I might relent if it looks pretty.
      Best place for snow is on a Christmas card :-)

      • I gave in and activated the snow feature. It’s the only snow I’m going to look at right now. I can’t stop giggling when I look at the header of my blog with various shots of Phoenix and seeing snow falling over the city.

        LOL – I agree…snow on a Christmas card is the best place to see it. :P

        • Absolutely definitely the only snow I want to see is on a Christmas card.
          Today is bright sunshine. Chilly but lovely and bright. And I hope it stays that way! :-D

  5. I too am a Hater of The White Stuff for all the same reasons
    Eunice
    Mines on but I did not turn snow on my blog :)

    • Quite a few of us seem to hate it. But I think we’re outnumbered by those who love it. We were in Malta in December a few years ago. Left piles of the stuff behind in England – nearly couldn’t take off because of it – when we arrived the Maltese knew about all the traffic chaos here, but were very jealous because we had snow! But it is absolute chaos! Mad!

      • It is you know it is nice looking as you peer out a window as it falls but all the hours I spent year after year stuck on the US highways watching people learn how to drive all over again each winter cost me a lot of money but then when that bus hit me on a beautiful clear day I hut so bad and the snow kept falling I couldn’t shovel without horrible pain I had to or I would be trapped :( We even had to SHOVEL the roof to stop it from caving in MAN I HATE SNOW :)

        I am glad I have a HATER right there with me

        Hugs
        Eunice

        yes those people you met who would love it to would sicken of it :)

  6. It is only nice when it is falling. Good luck!

  7. Totally with you there honey, I HATE snow lol

    Xx

  8. Every weekend i used to visit this site, as i want enjoyment, for the reason that this this site conations actually pleasant funny information too.

  9. Hello friends, nice post and nice urging commented at this place, I am
    genuinely enjoying by these.

What are your thoughts on this? Do tell...

