Time is on my mind

At the moment, I understand Dali’s melting clock. Someone has definitely decided to melt mine. I think time has gone into over drive. I am frightened to blink in case an hour has passed and I truly believe it is speeding up.

Time is definitely a flighty being. First of all, Einstein pretty much dismissed it as non-existent. Not just relative, but depending upon where you sit in the universe, it moves around, stretches and shrinks in a most alarming way. Right now, a quick trip to somewhere like Alpha Centauri would solve a lot of my problems as time would apparently slow down. Here on earth, you’d be rushing around growing older and tearing towards Christmas like a bunny on speed, whilst up there I would have plenty of opportunity to get everything done I need to, whilst still enjoying a lazy lie in, reading the Jo Nesbo I started a week ago.

My writing, which I’d expected to grow substantially in the last couple of weeks, has developed a distinct stammer. The peace, quiet and timelessness of another planet should see my tome grow in a more satisfying way than it has an opportunity to do here. Finishing the present buying and writing Christmas cards are pressing, as yet I have not put up one single decoration and whilst a distinct party atmosphere abounds among my friends, the most festive I’ve managed is to don a pair of snowflake earrings.

Mind you, there doesn’t seem to be much sun up there. We’ve had a lovely sunny day today and I wouldn’t be getting any more of those. In fact, I believe it’s dark, which as we have established in a previous post does not suit me. Will it be cold too? In which case, I’m going off the idea by the nano-second.

And of course, because of that relativity thing, by the point I chose to come back, Christmas would have come and gone. Maybe quite a few Christmases. The family would have despaired of me ever turning up to cook the turkey and got on with it on their own. And I’m fairly sure that the Wifi wouldn’t work up there, so I would lose touch with a lot of my bloggy friends.

In short, Alpha Centauri is not the answer. But I still have a need to find more time.

Maybe I could try giving up sleep?

 

2 responses to “Time is on my mind

  1. If only you could manipulate time, right? I’ve had those weeks where several things converge at once and sleep seems like a hindrance. Of course, after a few days of limited sleep, everything feels even more difficult to accomplish.

    LOL – I remember an old sitcom from the late 80′s- Out of this World. Talk about wacky sitcoms, the premise was that a teen girl’s dad was actually an alien and so the girl had the ability to freeze time whenever she wanted to by touching two fingers together. Of course, like Samantha on Bewitched, the girl’s human family discouraged her to use her power. If you could only develop the skill to freeze time, then you’d have your problem solved. So much simpler than traveling, well, out of this world eh?

    Good luck with everything. Do get some sleep though.

    • Actually slept like a log last night so nothing doing there!!
      Yes, the ability to freeze time would be wonderful. Just seem to have a lot of calls on that particular commodity right now.
      And it’s not really Christmas that’s causing it – just lots of things demanding my attention that I don’t feel I can ignore.
      Never mind, it won’t last forever, and it did give me a subject not only for a post but also for my homework for writing class. :-)

What are your thoughts on this? Do tell...

