Hairy Dieters, 50 shades and The Definition of Insanity…

Gerbera Flower

Gratuitous Photograph of Gerbera

After yesterday’s irrelevant picture of Southwold Harbour, I thought maybe a pretty flower might be a good idea. No real reason, just that it looks charming and since most of my garden has a blown-to-bits, burned-to-a-crisp look about it, this is a pleasant change.

Talking of pleasant change, have you seen the latest from Orion? They have announced that the Hairy Dieters (those Hairy Bikers have been on diets for those of you who haven’t noticed) have overtaken 50 shades in the book selling stakes. Apparently food outsells even sex. Now I, for one, am delighted by this. Not because I have any particular affinity with Bikers, hairy or otherwise, nor have I seen their programme or so much as opened their book to take a peek. Simply because I am fed up with hearing about 50 shades and feeling pressured into believing I should read it. Which I haven’t. But however I personally feel about 50 shades, she did get three books written and into the Best Seller Lists and at the current rate of progress, that is more than I’m going to do.

You see, today I have been not writing. And if you read my post yesterday, you will know that I took the day off and went out with my husband. What you won’t know is that precious little was done on Monday either. Not actual new writing. Some revision, editing and a bit of fiddling and that has been about it for the past three days. Now that is not good. When I opened up the computer and took a look at my latest WIP this morning, it made sad reading. Pathetic. What is strange, is that I really didn’t expect it to be so bad, so thin on the ground. Or screen. Somewhere in my mind, I had produced a marvellous quantity of words, all perfectly formed into the right kind of sentences, pushing my story on in just the right way. I had chosen to forget my naughty forays into the world. And has that spurred me on to bigger, better, brighter results today? No, it has not.

Three days off then. And still I open the word document and believe my word count will have miraculously gone up in my absence.

โ€œThe definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.โ€ So said Albert Einstein. So there you have it. It is official. Completely bonkers.

But it is cooler now. I have re-installed my computer in the summer-house, given the place a little clean and tomorrow I shall be out there pounding the keyboard, making up for lost time. I promise.

17 responses to “Hairy Dieters, 50 shades and The Definition of Insanity…

  1. Summer house? What happened to “the shed”? No matter…I’ll meet you there with an open bottle…you’ll be writing (or napping) in no time…
    I promise!

    • Summer-house, shed? A rose by any other… No it isn’t! It’s my summer-house. Other less complimentary members of my family refer to it as the ‘shed’.
      Nevertheless, bring your bottle. I have chilled glasses. We can write together.
      (5 chairs, by the way. We could have a party – Ooos, forgot, supposed to be writing).

  2. Simply because I am fed up with hearing about 50 shades and feeling pressured into believing I should read it.

    Trust me, don’t read it. The only people who have recommended I read it are people who generally do not read. I d/l a free snippet from Amazon for my Kindle… wanted to claw my eyes out at the lazy writing style and juvenile language.

    • Thank you for the heads up and I’m sure you’re right. But I’ve no intention of reading it. Even if I could bear the hype, even if I could put up with the bad writing, I wouldn’t read it.
      Soapbox warning:
      I’m not a prude, quite like a bit of lust in novels, have some steamy sex appear in some of my own writing, but the feminist bit of me cannot stand this. Any book that promotes the sexual subjugation of a woman to a man should not be printed.
      I do not want our daughters and granddaughters to grow up believing this is how sex is.
      Sex is a beautiful loving part of an equal relationship. Not a sado-masochistic romp through life.
      There. Feel better now!
      Thanks for commenting. Thanks for reading!

      • lol, rant away. It is your blog. I’m always game for a well-written sex scene so I’m no prude either.

        I cannot understand how this book has become so popular because of the reasons you state. Written by a woman aimed at women. The same goes for Twilight. Seriously? Women want to be in controlling and abusive relationships?

        I don’t know if you have read Jean M. Auel’s Earth’s Children series but the third book The Mammoth Hunters left me a bit cold at the obsessive and stalker-ish attitude of a character named Ranec.

        • No, not read. And I suppose some women do want exactly that sort of relationship. But it isn’t healthy for this to be promoted as some kind of Shangri-la delight to yearn for.
          And now we have all this controversy over what constitutes rape.
          I seem to have stepped back in time.

  3. Sometimes, it’s important for us to take time off from our works. I know it is for me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I know what you mean about the lack of motivation sometimes. I email or text ideas to myself at times, but sometimes it just isn’t there. And I completely agree with you on the reason to not read the book. I much prefer reading edifying material ~ like your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. i like your gratuitous gerbera.

  6. Sharon Satterfield

    I’m glad to hear that something is over taking 50 Shades! I’m with you on the “Tired of hearing about it”. Good luck with your writing! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. First I’ll never try to take anything away from an author who writes three books, gets all the press she received and, no doubt, has made a pretty penny for her troubles. Second, I have to agree with you, I’m tired of hearing people who never read tell me why I should read these books. What people like and dislike is subjective. I like thrillers, science-fiction, mysteries, and even a good fantasy (as long as it doesn’t contain fairies). Others might like romances, dramas, or police procedural books. Heck, some might even like fairies.
    At this point I think it’s great that something could knock the 50 shades books out of the news. The day I take reading tips from a morning talk show host is the day I quit reading. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, you’re right, on several counts. Great for James to get the things written and so much publicity from it, but as I said, I have no desire to read it. I thought it was quite funny that it was knocked off the spot by a diet cook book. I like thrillers too, and mysteries, some sci fi and fantasy, most things but not romance.
      Even the odd fairy!

What are your thoughts on this? Do tell...

