Did NaNoWriMo begin 50 Shades of Grey?

I have never taken part in National Novel Writing Month, but this year I may do that. Getting down to writing is always the biggest part, especially if you’ve written the first few pages and you want to carry on, but the energy isn’t there. Sometimes, we all need a little spur.

But I wonder how many great, good, or just plain popular novels have begun their lives this way. We read the books, yet rarely do we have a glimpse of what provoked the writer to begin. From whence came that initial spark and, beyond that, the will to carry on?

If you’ve read my posts before, you will know that I have not read 50 shades. I just don’t want to read it, I am not interested in her subject matter and could wax feminist lyrical as to why. Right now, I will refrain from that because it would be to digress, but I cannot fault Ms James for apparently capturing the imagination of almost the entire book buying world, nor for writing all the words necessary to do so. This, as most of us writers know, takes commitment, graft, bum-to-seat-glue and a great deal of bashing of those keys, quite apart from the ideas and the ability to set them down on paper/screen. It can be and, often is, sheer hard work.

When asked how he writes, Stephen King says ‘One word at a time.’ He’s right. There is no other way. He adds ‘ Talent is cheaper than table salt. What separates the talented individual from the successful one is a lot of hard work.’ So there.

I write because I have to. It’s like reading. Something I have always done and I don’t have any alternative. Some would say I have a passion for writing, others would just say I’m a bit touched in the head. I write every day, but sometimes I can be distracted into writing things other than the WIP (especially when what I’m supposed to be doing is editing it!)

Sometimes a little pressure applied judiciously is no bad thing. And that is why I think I may join the NaNoWriMos in November.

Oh, and the photo? Barbara Hepworth’s Family of Man at Snape in Suffolk. I love this. Find it gives food for thought in many ways.

8 responses to “Did NaNoWriMo begin 50 Shades of Grey?

  1. I know that 50 Shades actually started life as Twilight fan fic but did NaNoWriMo spark it? Interesting question, I’ve no idea and do not really have the inclination to find out!

  2. Where, may I ask, do you purchase bum-to-seat glue; I don’t necessarily need it, at least not usually…but at times it could come in handy. Does it come in a variety of hours of stickiness or wordcount measures?

What are your thoughts on this? Do tell...

