Pen friends

Ever since I re-blogged a post on the Great Bic Pen Fiasco (https://patwoodblogging.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=535&action=edit) I have been paying a little more attention to the pen I choose to use in the morning. This morning, it was my little green Space Pen. You remember those – designed  to write in space, to write at any angle, even upside down. They turned out to be a wonderful , but rather unnecessary invention, since there being no gravity to prevent ink from flowing, it didn’t matter what direction they were held at. Nice little novelties though, with a pretty history and a delightful present to a pen lover like me from a thoughtful friend.

My Space Pen is green, and quite small, a fact that sometimes puts me off it a bit. As I commented on http://theunconventionalhousewife.com/2012/08/27/the-bic-files/ I tend to go for fairly large pens, what BIC would doubtless refer to as ‘male’. Something to get hold of. Probably because my writing is rather enormous.

And why do I require a plethora of pens you may ask, since I have mentioned a couple of times how I write straight to computer? Surely I have no need of the odd ballpoint, feminine andice cream coloured or otherwise. But I write Morning pages longhand. Early morning scribbles, of arrant nonsense quite often. The first exercise of my writing muscle for the day. Followed by as much writing direct to the computer as I can manage, including my blog post.

But each day, I have to write something longhand. On paper with a carefully chosen pen friend.

9 responses to “Pen friends

  1. I know of what you speak. I have many pen friends and hand write soemthing everyday. Then I have my special book signing pen!

  2. writing by hand doesn’t seem to be agreeing with me lately. I get really nasty pain in my wrist. Aging is so much fun!

  3. I nominated you for the Silver Quill Bloggers Award. I hope you will accept the award. I enjoy your blog. Thank you for sharing your gift of writing with us. For the details please go to http://tersiaburger.com/2012/09/06/silver-quill-bloggers-award

  4. I have a thing with pens… if it’s not a fine point pen then I cannot use it. I don’t know if it’s an OCD thing (OCD thing, OCD thing, OCD thing) or not, but there’s just something about non-fine point pens that creep me out.

    -SB

    http://senatorbrett.wordpress.com/2012/05/18/135/

    • Probably OCD, but can’t comment on that, pretty OCD myself.
      Have to say, for various reasons, found myself PENLESS whilst out today and was horrified!! Luckily my husband came to the rescue. All I can say is that it pays to be OCD and I don’t know what came over me not to have a spare…

What are your thoughts on this? Do tell...

