Weekly Photo Challenge: Everyday Life

Street scene

When I am on holiday, I take lots of photographs of street scenes. I like to visit historical sites, the principle areas of interest in each region and of course of my loved ones enjoying themselves, but without the street scenes, I have no context. I photograph between sites, hanging out of windows, through the windows of a bus, stopping at the side of the road to catch a view. Especially when we are in a country for a very short time, there is little chance to assess those sites and it is very easy to forget where I have been. Taking the ‘in between’ pictures acts as a reminder and gives me the context I desire once I return home.

Those photographs can also serve as writing prompts. Little insights into another world far removed from where I live.

12 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Everyday Life

  1. Hadn’t thought of “snaps” as writing prompts…..well done, Missy P.

  2. Nice photo and very good material for a writing prompt. I’ve used the process myself. I hope you enjoyed your getaway.

  3. What a great idea! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It works a treat on so many levels. I remember not just where I’ve been, but all the little asides on the way and as a result give myself lots of story cues for the future. And character cues too. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Do try it. I think you will enjoy it and find it a great benefit.

  4. I use my photos as writing prompts ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I post a photo every Saturday and then what I’ve written every Tuesday lol

    xx

  5. Excellent. I used my photos as writing prompts for all three of my children’s travel adventure stories. They are the best!

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Everyday Life | Mike Hardisty Photography

What are your thoughts on this? Do tell...

