The reason …

The day after my eighth birthday, my father told me I had a twin brother.

I couldn’t believe it, didn’t believe it at first. Then he showed me a photograph of a boy of about my age wearing a school uniform quite unlike mine and my dad’s face.

‘How?’ I stammered, followed by ‘Why?’

‘Your mother didn’t die in a road accident,’ he said. ‘She lives in America with your brother. When we divorced, she suggested we separate the two of you so we would each keep a child.’

I didn’t know what to say. His words explained so much and yet begged even more questions. Not least, why tell me now?

‘She wants you back,’ he said. ‘She’s decided to apply for custody.’ He took a deep breath. ‘And she’ll probably get it.’

Even at that tender age, I knew he was referring to our precarious lifestyle: dad in and out of prison, a career burglar, me ferried between Gran and a series of pseudo-aunties, married to other convicted felons, who were more often inside doing porridge than outside with a job of work.

So was I going to get any say in this? He sighed that deep sigh again and shook his head.

‘If I know your mother, nothing you or I say will have any effect. She’ll have us tied in knots, packaged up and doing her bidding before you can blink.’

My mother abandoned me and now she wanted me back? I was only eight years old, but already I knew what I wanted. That was when I made the decision to kill her.

38 responses to “The reason …

  1. dangerous daughter!!!!
    fabulous story!

    • Thank you kind lady. I am actually quite fascinated by what might make people do certain things, or behave in certain ways. Not always as extreme as this…..

      • human psychology is very fascinating!

        • I think so. And I do try to understand what might lie behind the weird things my characters get up to. I mean, people don’t just decide to do stuff, they have a backstory, so my characters have to have one as well. Sometimes, it takes a while to find it, but it’s always there.

          • finding that rational backstory is the tough game of walking in the shoes of others- that writers have to do all the time.

            all the best!

          • Mmm. Yes. Very much the game I spend my life playing, anyway.

  2. I LOVE your writing! I get drawn into the story immediately! Very convincing – I always check whether your post is tagged under “Fiction WRiting”

    • Well I hope this one was! Don’t want to be arrested today – had a lovely day, and a prison cell would upset it a bit!
      Thank you for your kind words.

  3. Cliffy! You’re going to post the rest, right?

    • Not at the moment I’m not – I’m exploring reasons. Reasons, origins of character traits, excuses for behaviour outside the norm.
      So, yes, it is a cliffy, but at the moment, you must write your own ending! Might give you the rest at a later date. Might surprise you with how it goes…
      Another cliff hanger for you – πŸ™‚

  4. I didn’t realize it was fiction until I looked at the category it was filed under! LOL You had me going! Now I am curious about what happens next πŸ˜€

  5. Great start to a story. Can’t wait to hear more.

    • There are lots of ‘reasons’ – she has to take her place amongst others. I promise I will give the rest but there is a little more naughty cliff hanger to come.

  6. Really good beginning. It sucked me in. Thanks for sharing.

  7. honeytreerecipes

    Fantastic, instantly drawn to the story. Writing about a subject like this is closer to home for more people than most could imagine. Fantastic, real fiction.

    • Thank you. That’s very kind. There will be a bit more of this story coming along. I’m exploring reasons why people do stuff. Motives and how they might be born. Thank you for taking time to comment.

  8. Just6 popped over from Darlene’s blog. Am totally into your story already – an 8 years old assassin. Can’t wait for the next installment.

    • There will be more coming. Bit more later today maybe. Thank you for popping over. Tried to log on to your blog to take a look, but I’m having trouble opening judithhb. ?? Secret blog you have there?

      • Sorry you are having problems opening the blog – here’s the link http://growingyoungereachday.wordpress.com. I have been very dilatory in writing blogs lately but am getting back int writing regularly starting today. Just read the next installment of your story – twins who hate each other but have a common enemy, Powerful

        • Thank you – glad you popped back and gave me the link. Thank you for your kind comment. Glad you like it. Hope you will take a look at the next bit when I post it.
          πŸ™‚

  9. Well, I would say that was an extreme reaction but I do understand it. Fascinating. Just found you through Darlene Foster. Great writing. J.K.

    • Thank you. It’s those extreme reactions and the motivations that might cause them that I am exploring at the moment. Will be a bit more of this later, and maybe the ending very soon too.
      Thank you for coming by to comment. Will pop over and visit. Put the kettle on. I’ll bring the biscuits.

  10. Pingback: The Reason Why… | patwoodblogging

  11. At eight years old, everything is still black and white, so that seems a reasonable response. πŸ™‚

    • Glad you agree. Black and white only, shades of grey only appear much later. Also, it can be a very selfish time. But most children have short memories. Feelings rise and fall and then can be forgotten. Or maybe not… πŸ™‚

  12. Pingback: The Reason Why I Wanted… | patwoodblogging

  13. Pingback: The reason why I wanted to… | patwoodblogging

  14. Pingback: The reason why I wanted to make…. | patwoodblogging

  15. I likehow you weave in the suspence even in that short extract.
    thanks for sharing.

    • Happy you enjoyed it. Thank you for stopping by to read and to comment. There is more of this on the blog, four or five episodes altogether. πŸ™‚

What are your thoughts on this? Do tell...

