The Ups, the Downs and the Rainbows in that Creative Life

The Christmas Craft Fair was brilliant. John and I arrived at 9 a.m., and after dumping me and the stock, he went to collect a friend, Jenny, who kindly comes along to help.

I had way more stuff than I thought, probably enough to fill three tables, but we made do with the one I’d booked. We have a shelf that John made, which sits on the table to give some height, and when we’d covered that and the table over with black silk and velvet, we put out the hats, scarves, boots, bits and bobs of felt and silk. I thought it looked like a jumble sale, but everyone else seemed to think it was OK.

We sold the first hat before the sale opened – to another stall holder. Jill looked pretty in my weird creation and she was so delighted with it, she wore it all week-end. πŸ™‚ I’d made several new wraps, huge and fringed and colourful, full of cashmere and alpaca. Wasn’t sure how they would go, but they all sold, which was marvellous. We went from good to better, to the best we’ve ever done. The Pop Up Shop in October served as a good advertisement for this sale, so that was excellent. And that is it for the year. No more fairs for me. I’m done. Almost literally!

I was so bushed yesterday, I could do little more than clear the decks at home (which looked like World War III had happened inside it!) and then sit about doing nothing. The energy levels had dropped to zilch. Adrenalin gone, Pat had turned into a soggy deflated balloon. I did the couch potato thing and ate too much!

Today, we had to go to the dentist – boring! And the weather was frightful. Wet, blowy, chilly. Not exactly cold, but decidedly unfriendly. At least I thought so, but as we pulled away from the house, we noticed the beginning of a rainbow. As we drove, the colours grew and strengthened until halfway along the road towards Bungay, we had a complete arc of colour over the road. I’m sorry the photos don’t do it justice, but they’re taken from inside the car with a rain-spattered windscreen and that was the only way they were going to happen. If I were clever, I could probably edit them into something brilliant, but I don’t know how and anyway, that was the way it was. Rainbow

Tomorrow I shall pop down to Sunshine Hair Design, where my lovely hairdresser lets me have his window. I’ll fill it up with some of my leftover scarves and hats and surround them baubles, beads and with other Christmas goodies and that will be it. So now I can go back to writing without feeling guilty that I should be doing the day job. That can take a back seat for a little while. And I’ve earned myself enough money to buy more gorgeous wool and silk to re-stock for when I get the urge to make more weird – and hopefully wonderful! – crafty things. In the meantime, I’m a writer and if anyone wants me, they’ll find me tucked up in my cupboard with a couple of new guys I’m just getting to know, on a journey that as yet has no ending.

I’m not sure where we’re off to, but I hope there’s a rainbow on the way. πŸ™‚

P.S. Talking of journeys, I’d just like to say congratulations to ZenaΒ who was having a tough time finding a job and was feeling rotten. Glad to hear you have an assignment. Brilliant. Hope it’s the start of something big. πŸ™‚

 

 

15 responses to “The Ups, the Downs and the Rainbows in that Creative Life

  1. Wonderful post! So glad you did great and had fun weather is nasty so often but a rainbow at the end always seems to make me forget πŸ™‚ I shoot through windows all the time I have got to stop that πŸ™‚

  2. I love following your posts and getting a glimpse of the wonderful country life you have created for yourself!

  3. delighted that the fair went well!!

    • It was brilliant. Best ever. People are so kind and so lovely – and they liked my stuff, which is always a bit of a surprise and very welcome. I had one or two really expensive cashmere scarves and sold them. Also a HUGE wrap covered in long tasselly fringes. Thought it was so mad everyone would think I was just crazy, but it went.
      And did I take a photo? Nope, the stuff went so fast in the morning, John only took one photo of the whole table – which looks a bit like a jumble sale! πŸ™‚

  4. I like how you were able to capture most of the rainbow in your photos. I know I’m tired… I had to re-read the part where you sold a hat to a fellow stall holder. I swear upon first pass I read “Jill looked pretty weird in my creation”. Bah! I need to rest my eyes.

    Congrats on selling out your creations!

    • Made me laugh! Expect some people did think she looked pretty weird – some of my stuff is pretty weird! But I know what you mean about eyes – they get very tired working on the computer.

      Glad you liked the rainbow photos. Wasn’t sure if anyone of them would work and they were definitely the best two of about a dozen.

      Thanks Nicole.

  5. Well done – I’m so glad the fair was a success for you! I love that rainbow, you did so well to capture it πŸ˜‰

  6. Rainbow, my favorite color. Nice post by the girl with the truly happy smile.
    You bring cheer to my computer screen…

What are your thoughts on this? Do tell...

