Let it not snow!!!

That dreaded dratted white stuff is threatened. Yes, the snow. It hasn’t arrived yet and I’m freezing cold at the very thought.

I have been trying to dust off the blogs I haven’t visited lately and it’s taken me all day to get about half way through. There is far too much stuff in the blogosphere which is interesting and I blame you lot for keeping me chatting and drinking tea and nibbling doughnuts. How is a person to get anything done?

When I next decide to take nearly two weeks off at Christmas or any other time, just remind me how long it takes to catch up with everyone, get back into the swing of things and answer all my emails. Getting around to writing a post is hard enough, but I need to be writing my fantastic and wonderful first draft of the new opus, not to mention editing ancient oeuvres! And I notice from my drifting around on the ether that I’m not the only one not entirely back from their holidays yet. I’ve read more apologies and short posts today than in all the six months I’ve been reading and scribbling on here.

I love touring around, finding out what you’re all up to. I suppose it’s a form of delightful procrastination. I open up the computer, determined to do some work and think, must just take a quick look the emails, see if there is anything urgent or interesting. And then of course it’s all either urgent or interesting and that’s my work kissed good-bye yet again.

As for Twitter, I am so-oooo behind on that. I had perfected the art of ten minutes in the morning, ten minutes in the evening, but that was before Santa began his mammoth sleigh ride and now I don’t seem to get as far as even opening Tweetdeck. All my lovely Twitter friends will think I have dropped off the planet.

So, if I haven’t been around lately to curl up for a cuppa and a chat, it’s not for want of trying. Keep the kettle hot and the biscuits handy. I will get there very soon. Keep scribbling because I’m itching to know what you’ve been up to.

Of course, if it snows really hard and I get blocked into my house, then I may not  peep out until the Spring. If you’re not to busy, you could always come over and dig me out!

 

 

34 responses to “Let it not snow!!!

  1. Me too. I don’t think I will ever get caught up. We do our best. We are hoping for no snow as well on the west coast of Canada. Keep warm and carry on!!

    • It’s here, brr! horrible.
      Hope you get your wish even though I did not. And you’re likely to get a great deal more than us, so I wish you well!
      🙂 Wrap up warm!

  2. We got snowed on a week or so ago. The darn stuff is still on the ground! It’s so crummy. I hope you don’t get the white stuff and need someone to dig you out! 😛

  3. …. me too! ALL day yesterday and that was just for not being on top of things for two or three days. I can’t even imagine two weeks of absence…

  4. PAT
    Snow is a first-class remedy for SAD. I heartily welcome the covering of white because of the light it throws at me, raising my seratonin levels and invigorating me by several levels. Sure, it makes the going a little more challenging (although I actually enjoy driving in snow!) and it’s colder (extra layers required – leave the dignity in the umbrella stand) but as Billy Connolly said; ‘There’s no such thing as bad weather – just the wrong clothes.’
    As for catching up – I’m finally back on track after taking two weeks off – in October!
    I’ve organised my WordPress settings so that for all but five of my favourite bloggers, I get a weekly surge of new posts every Monday morning that I browse at a steady pace throughout the week. I almost got through them all before a fresh batch of 48 arrived this morning!

    • It arrived, that horrible white wet stuff! Yuk! Still hate it. And I do wrap up warm. I have a big blue anorak and a serious body warmer that goes under it and I’m the gal that makes wool scarves! Still hate it!!!
      Never mind. Don’t suppose it will last long!
      And yes, the ‘fresh batch’ business is part of the problem. Every time I think I am nearly there, another lot arrive – two steps forward, one step back!
      If only they weren’t all so darn interesting! 🙂

  5. You’re good to try and catch up. When I go away or take a social media break, I just pick up where I left off. If I tried to catch up on blog posts I missed I’d never get anything done. I guess I do try to respond to any mentions on Twitter, but let’s face it, it’s not like my inbox is overburdened with those… 😉

  6. oh no Andrew Billy is wrong much as I like the man he’s wrong – just wrong clothes – that is part of the problem of snow the layers of clothing needed to go out, they weight you doen they just about work out in the windy snow and then the second you go inside one has to start stripping as they are so wrong for over heated shops – ugh – it’s arrived here and I am copying grizzly bear and hibernating – although those doughnuts sound tempting Pat – are they hot – do they have holes in the middle ?- might be round to dig you out
    I’m still trying to catch up with twitter and various groups I belong too but it was so nice to have the break:)

    • The snow is here, but it doesn’t look as though it will be too long in going. The weather is relatively mild. Hopefully……
      Doughnuts are always on, no matter what the weather!
      Twitter is my next stop – they’ve probably forgotten I exist!

  7. I read your cri de couer on my comments this morning – it’s swings and roundabouts with summer and winter! we have people coming from the UK every summer here to escape the winter… they’re called swallows! But I’d hate to miss the seasons… Enjoy your hot soup, foaming hot chocolate and other comforters !!!

    • I’d be happy to stick with Spring and Autumn and leave out all extremes!!! The snow arrived and I’m hoping it will not stay too long. I’ve made chicken curry for tonight – hot! 🙂

  8. Welcome back! I hope you’re enjoying the snow. I know I am! 😉

  9. It’s trying to snow here in Oregon. I appreciate the effort but really? If it is going to be this cold, it needs to SNOW! Trapped inside. Lovely roaring fire. Play Scrabble. Sigh.

    Hope you get some of the white stuff! I’m new here, where are you?

    • We do have some snow, but not much, just enough to be a complete pain. I’m in Eastern England. As you look at it, I’m on the middle of that bump that sticks out into the North Sea, about eight miles in from the coast.
      And it’s not that cold, only hovering around freezing, so I’m hoping that the white stuff will not be able to last very long. 🙂 Keep warm!

  10. It’s snowing here today. Melted immediately. I kind of like it. At least it’s different than our constant rain. And yes, a good excuse to nibble on donuts.

  11. Sounds like me. I’m chronically behind on my social media. And it’s summer here, so I really have no excuse. 😀

    • Ah, summer…… a distant memory. Actually, thinking about it, a very distant memory as it rained for most of the year!!
      Enjoy the warmth… 🙂

  12. Summer here so definitely no snow but not much sun either! I have decided that I can’t catch up and do all the summer things, and write and and that I need/want to do. So I am starting from here. Take care, keep warm and keep the picture of those lazy summer days in mind for the next couple of months. 😀

    • There is always so much to do, isn’t there?
      Enjoy your summer days. I’m visualising…..
      sitting on a comfy chair in the garden, the sun is warm on my face, not hot, just warm, a very gentle breeze rustles the trees, birds are singing – hush, not to loud, please – someone is bringing me a gin and tonic with a slice of lemon and lots of ice –
      Ice? Who said ice?
      Back to reality…. 🙂

What are your thoughts on this? Do tell...